The teeming autumn big with rich increase

Standard

October is normally one of my favourite months of the year – I’m a fan of cool evenings, falling leaves, and even rain (in moderation). This month hasn’t got off to great start – and not just because I’ve failed to get tickets for Henry IV at the Donmar Warehouse. So I tried to cheer myself up with Shakespeare’s views on the month and apparently he doesn’t mention it once by name in the entire canon. Well that’s just an extra kick in the teeth. It’s all April and May – and maybe December if he’s in a bad mood – but nothing at all for poor October. The best I can do is a bit of Antony and Cleopatra – “For his bounty, There was no winter in’t; an autumn ’twas That grew the more by reaping.”

See, this is why I like autumn. Pretty things.

See, this is why I like autumn. Pretty things.

Leave a Reply

