He speaks at random III

Standard

There are one or two fun things on the horizon.

First up, the makers of Horrible Histories have turned their eyes on Shakespeare with a film – Bill –  out in cinemas in March 2015. I will definitely be going (and give you all a full report), and I confidently expect it to be very, very funny. Here’s one of my favourite bits of Horrible Histories to get you in the mood – the RAF boyband song…*

Secondly, on 9 February general booking opens for the Globe this year. The most exciting production – well, they’re all exciting! – is King John, to commemorate the 800th anniversary of the Magna Carta. It’s not a play that’s produced very often , so I’m definitely going to catch it while I can. The only question is where to see it – at the Globe, in Temple Church in London, where King John met the barons, or in The Holy Sepulchre church in Northampton, which was an occasional royal residence**. Decisions decisions!

Also Maxine Peake’s Hamlet is coming to cinemas on the 23rd and 29th of March. I really need to pull my finger out and book some tickets!


 

* As a sidebar, Drunk History is coming to the UK on Monday. If you haven’t seen the US version/don’t even have a clue what I’m talking about, it’s a show where historians get drunk and tell stories about their favourite parts of history, which are then acted out verbatim by actors/comedians. I don’t have access to Comedy Central, but I’ll be trying to catch it if I can.

** The town has a wider importance as the congregation point of the barons in May 2015, the start of the Great Rebellion.

2 thoughts on “He speaks at random III

Leave a Reply

