He speaks at random VI

Standard

It’s your usual round-up of the weird and wacky (and vaguely Shakespeare-related)…

First up, Bristol is currently home to a Shakespeare festival with some great-sounding productions. I love the idea of Macbeth in haunted caves but will freely admit that I’m glad I can turn it down on the basis of distance to travel rather than admitting the thought scares me spitless.

Closer to home for me (although also available in selected destinations across the South) is Shakespeare in pub gardens. I think Romeo and Juliet with a pint of Pride sounds positively civilised, even if it is a very narrow line (particularly for R&J) between being drunk enough to accept the plot and so drunk I start heckling the characters. Permanently Bard is just the best possible name for a pub-based Shakespeare company – I think punning says more than any number of positive reviews…

The BBC quoted Ophelia at length in their piece on the study which shows rosemary is actually for remembrance after all,  , Shakespeare has joined the likes of Nabokov and Austen in the pantheon of authors-invoked-in-memoir-titles, an overlooked but important literary milestone, and you all now know enough about the history of tennis to know this guy is plain wrong

Finally and most importantly, in August someone is staging King Lear WITH SHEEP. No, they really are. Although I don’t suppose much of the original script will remain…

7 thoughts on “He speaks at random VI

  1. westville13

    Fascinating to see that the Courtyard (King Lear with Sheep) is so close to the site of the Theatre and the Curtain……..

    Like

    • Good point! And it’s probably about as experimental, in its way. It’s also near to where I saw Ralph Fiennes as Richard II many years ago in a fabulous industrial staging by the Almeida – now that’s what I call mood whiplash!

      Like

      • Pleasure. You knowing so much on the subject, I assumed you’d at least have heard of many of them. I’d be really interested to read a few of these myself, though nothing to do with ascribing the works to others- as if a grammar school boy wasn’t capable of greatness, as if it just had to be a nobleman who was the creative genius – that just irritates me 🙂

        Like

      • I know, very irritating – and even the amazing Mark Rylance thinks along those lines, which is very disappointing!
        I’ll look forward to reading your reviews 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

