Longer than I have time to tell

Standard

Hello, my name is Desperately Seeking Cymbeline and my greatest nightmare is Henry VIII. Not the man himself, although let’s face it he is the stuff of the worst, cheese-and-chocolate fever dreams that you ever woke up from screaming, but the play.

One may smile and smile and yet be a villain

One may smile and smile and yet be a villain

The reason for this? Well not only is it the show which burnt down the original Globe Theatre, thanks to its use of cannon fire*, it’s also basically never performed. The RSC has put it on once in the last ten years (and that nearly ten years ago – in 2006). The Globe had performed it twice in its entire history** once in Catalan as part of the Globe-to-Globe season, and once in 2010 with Dominic Rowan as the eponymous king (and given how young he still looked in Measure for Measure he must have been a positive baby at the time).

Apparently the Globe connection means the play is seen as jinxed. It’s also widely thought to be a collaboration with John Fletcher, and somewhat unevenly written as a consequence. Both of these may help explain why it is so rarely performed. And then there’s the fact that, unlike basically all the other history plays, there aren’t any battle scenes – it’s all set at court. Which might make it a bit less appealing to the more flamboyant of theatrical directors. The BBC – naturally – did a very highly regarded film version in 1979***, filmed in genuine Tudor castles including Hever Castle which was Anne Boleyn’s home, and showcasing particularly the talents of Timothy West as Cardinal Wolsey and Claire Bloom as Catherine of Aragon. I might try to get my hands on it.

Having just missed the play’s 400th anniversary (not that that seems to have counted for much in terms of productions) I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for a production – but not necessarily holding my breath…


* I talked about it here, and while I am still impressed with the low injury count, more and more I am simply perplexed about how they got a cannon into the roof in the first place. Those things are heavy, and the Globe’s stairways are twisty. Even worse than getting a sofa into an upstairs flat…

** To be fair, if it were down to me I’d probably be thinking “Shall we put on the play that burned down our namesake and predecessor? No, let’s give it a miss this year” too.

*** So only 36 years ago then.

One thought on “Longer than I have time to tell

  1. I understand you concerns. I have never seen the play screened – I’ve never even seen a poster for it or an upcoming production, though there’s a fair bit of Shakespearing goes on in Bath and Bristol. It’s so little done, I had to assure my husband just the other day that Bill did write a Henry VIII, and he’s no slouch when it comes to Shakespeare. If I see a production in the offing round here, I’ll be sure to let you know.
    On a different note, have you seen ‘Bill’ yet, the Horrible Histories film? We saw it at the weekend and laughed our socks off. I fear it’s had no advertising, though and despite not being out long seems to be on limited screenings already, which is a great shame. It was great fun and they slipped lots of Bard related in jokes for the adults and cleared up how Kit Marlow died!

    Like

Leave a Reply

